Select Page

Candidates 2020

Two board of director seats will be voted on by SVEC members in 2020. Voting will occur in-person at the annual business meeting, scheduled for Thursday, August 13, at Stonewall Jackson High School, and online and via mail in the weeks leading up to the meeting. Please stay tuned for additional information on the voting process.

Click on the names below to meet your 2020 candidates*. For more information about the nominating and petition process, click here.

Seat #1: Running unopposed for one seat is Stephen W. Burkholder, an incumbent and Nominating Committee nominee.

Stephen W. Burkholder, Incumbent

Seat #2: Running for the other seat are Vice Chair Suzanne S. Obenshain, an incumbent and Nominating Committee nominee, and Sally Newkirk, a petition candidate.

Vice Chair Suzanne S. Obenshain, Incumbent

Sally Newkirk

*Note to members: Each candidate for the SVEC board of directors was provided the same set of questions, including ones about their community/charitable affiliations, academic and employment backgrounds and leadership positions they’ve held or currently hold. They were also asked why they wanted to serve on the board, what is the most important part of serving on any board and how their personal skills, community connections and professional background help in their potential representation on the board. Their answers have been edited for grammar and space considerations.