Select Page

Board Election 2020

UPDATED 2/14/20

Shenandoah Valley Electric Cooperative (SVEC) members who live in Rockingham County and are interested in serving on the Board of Directors have an opportunity to run for a seat this year.

SVEC’s board members serve staggered four-year terms, meaning only a handful are up for re-election in a given year. In 2020, the two seats up for re-election both are in Rockingham County. While the people occupying the seats will reside in Rockingham County, they will represent the entire co-op membership as a board member.

One of the advantages of electric cooperative membership is local governance. Every member receiving service has a vote in director elections, and all directors who serve on the board are members, making decisions on your behalf. Voting will begin this summer. Mail-in balloting and online voting will then continue for several weeks leading up to the annual business meeting on Thursday, Aug. 13, at Stonewall Jackson High School in Quicksburg. In-person voting will be available at the meeting.

Getting on the Ballot

To be a candidate on the ballot, a member must either be selected by SVEC’s nominating committee or submit a petition with the signatures of 50 SVEC account holders to the committee. In December, the board selected members for the 2020 nominating committee (listed below). It is the duty of this committee to recommend one candidate for each director seat up for election.

The incumbents this year from Rockingham are Suzanne Obenshain and Stephen Burkholder. On Feb. 12, the nominating committee selected both incumbents to be on the ballot this year.

Petitions were due March 16. Information will be posted soon about petition candidates.

Qualifications of a Board Member

Potential candidates for the board must be members of SVEC and bona fide residents of its service area. The cooperative’s bylaws say that candidates must be at least 21 years of age and may not, in any way, be employed by a competing enterprise or a business selling electric energy or supplies to the cooperative.

To read SVEC’s Director Candidate Recruitment Policy, please click here.


2020 Nominating Committee

  • Eugene F. Bare, Jr., 18833 Runions Creek Road, Broadway, VA  22815
  • Dwight William Newman, 5240 Pleasant Valley Road Harrisonburg, VA  22801
  • Dewey L. Ritchie, 10191 Acorn Lane, Broadway, VA  22815
  • Michael W. Thompson, 10413 Phillips Store Road, Broadway, VA  22815