Select Page

Board Election 2021

Updated 8/13/21

Members re-elected Larry C. Howdyshell to the board of directors, SVEC’s corporate attorney Dale Davenport announced during the annual meeting held Thursday, Aug. 12. Howdyshell’s seat is from Augusta/Highland counties and was the only one up for re-election in 2021.

Ballots were sent to all co-op members on June 29. Voting, both through mail-in and online ballot, opened on July 1, 2021 and closed August 9, 2021. Proxy forms, which basically serve as RSVPs to help the cooperative establish a quorum for the meeting, were mailed to members at the same time as ballots, along with complete voting information.

Learn More About the Candidates

Election Background

One of the advantages of electric cooperative membership is local governance. Every member receiving service has a vote in director elections, and all directors who serve on the board are members, making decisions on your behalf. All voting this year will take place through each member’s choice of online ballot or postage-paid mail-in ballot (no in-person voting or proxy delivery for 2021) because of the cancellation of the in-person annual business meeting.

This change is due to precautions chosen by the board of directors to prevent spread of COVID-19 because we do not know what phase of health our region will be in by the time of the annual meeting. Voting will open in summer 2021 for online and mail-in ballots and proxies. Members may mail in proxies and ballots together in the same postage-paid envelope or enter both online.

To be a candidate on the ballot, a member must either be selected by SVEC’s nominating committee or submit a petition with the signatures of at least 50 SVEC account holders to the committee. In December, the board selected members for the 2021 nominating committee (listed below). It is the duty of this committee to recommend one candidate for each director seat up for election.

SVEC’s board members serve staggered four-year terms, meaning only a handful are up for re-election in a given year. While the person occupying the seat up for election in 2021 will reside in Augusta/Highland County, they will represent the entire co-op membership as a board member.

Qualifications of a Board Member

Potential candidates for the board must be members of SVEC and bona fide residents of its service area. The cooperative’s bylaws say that candidates may not, in any way, be employed by a competing enterprise or a business selling electric energy or supplies to the cooperative.

To read SVEC’s Director Candidate Recruitment Policy, please click here.

2021 Nominating Committee

Nick Collins, 850 Hotchkiss Road, Churchville, VA 24421

Josh Puffenbarger, 1056 Mt. Solon Road, Mt. Solon, VA 22843